Nina Diaz (Girl In A Coma) Announces Debut Solo LP via PAPER

Nina Diaz has announced her blazing debut full-length album The Beat Is Dead to be released October 28 via Cosmica Artists. This is the first solo album of the revered frontwoman of Girl In A Coma, the critically hailed indie-punk band that was famously nurtured by Joan Jett, opened forMorrissey and Tegan and Sara, and earned multiple Independent Music Awards.

Written exactly fifteen years after the passing of her grandmother, “January 9th” is a bittersweet ballad that opens the door to her electrifying new album. “January 9th” premiered with PAPER and you can find it HERE. Nina performs the track as well as offering an early taste of “Dig” and “For You” off the new album in her NPR Tiny Desk Concert out today.

The Beat Is Dead effortlessly showcases the eclectic influences of Nina Diaz. Album opener “Trick Candle” is a wailing indie-electro banger about Michael Hutchence from INXS who she says is “somebody who’ll never burn out.” Equally as at home in an industrial goth rave as a nightclub, the sturm und drang of “Screaming Without a Sound” illustrates the anxiety-ridden process of staving off addiction. Punk-cabaret “Rebirth” slams open with a viscous vocal line and challenges listeners to try not to move their hips. She shares, “When you know yourself, that’s when you can hate yourself the most. But that’s part of being reborn. No birth is easy. It’s painful.”

Hailed for enrapturing crowds with her wildly seductive live performance & warm sense of humor, Nina Diaz recently will play a handful of dates next week. Full list of tour dates here. The Beat Is Dead shines a light on Nina’s electrifying rock’n’roll tendencies and introspective nature, simultaneously tapping into a dark emotive place and the triumphant strength of her journey to sobriety.

WATCH: NPR Tiny Desk Concert 

1st Album Track “January 9th” Revealed via PAPER Magazine

Live Dates Incl. Opening For Cyndi Lauper 9/17

8/27: Mammoth Lakes, CA @ The Rafters
8/28: Las Vegas, NV @ Bunkhouse Saloon
9/10: San Marcos, TX @ SMTX Pride
910: San Antonio, TX @ Mission Pachanga (World Heritage Fest), Mission County Pavilion
9/17: Albuquerque, NM @ Sandia Casino (w/ Cyndi Lauper)
9/23: Houston, TX @ Fitzgeralds
9/24: New York, NY @ The Studio at Webster Hall

Pre-order The Beat Is Dead

Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | YouTube | Website | Soundcloud

The Beat Is Dead tracklist:

1. Trick Candle
2. Queen Beats King
3. Rebirth
4. January 9th
5. Fall In Love
6. Young Man
7. It
8. Screaming Without A Sound
9. Down
10. Dig
11. Star
12. For You
13. Morticians Musician