BL’AST! To Release Alternative Version Of Cult Debut LP Via Southern Lord

Following announcements over recent months proclaiming the release of Blood! – the newly-released but vintage recordings from iconic ’80s Santa Cruz surf/skate/hardcore act, BL’AST! – the band then confirmed their current live lineup which took over stages in the US last year for the first time in over a decade and a half. Original BL’AST! alumni, vocalist Clifford Dinsmore (also of Dusted Angel, Gargantula) and guitarist Mike Neider recruited Nick Oliveri (Kyuss, Queens of the Stone Age, Mondo Generator) on bass and drummer Hoss Wright (The Exies, Mondo Generator) to flesh out the brand new live lineup.


Now, Southern Lord will continue the new saga of BL’AST! with the mid-March release of The Expression Of Power. Flashing back to the mid-’80s, the band recorded their debut several times before finally emerging from the studio with their cult masterpiece The Power of Expression. The new issue of the LP will feature, for the first time ever, an alternate version (the Track Sessions) of the album, all fully remastered by Brad Boatright at Audiosiege. On March 18th Southern Lord will makeThe Expression Of Power available on CD and 3xLP including a twenty-eight page booklet with tons ofBL’AST! photos from the mid-’80s. BL’AST!‘s boundary-pushing form of hardcore, advanced musicianship, unstoppable energy and intense perseverance is as prominent now as it ever was.


BL’AST! has confirmed several new stateside live actions, including a show tomorrow, Tuesday, February 18th in San Francisco, followed by a hometown rager in Santa Cruz in mid-April. In June they’ll cross the Atlantic to perform at the infamous Hellfest, in Clisson, France. AdditionalBL’AST! live actions will be announced in the coming weeks.


BL’AST! Live:

2/18/2014 The Chapel – San Francisco, CA

4/18/2014 The Catalyst – Santa Cruz, CA

6/21/2014 Hellfest – Clisson, France


The Expression Of Power Track Listing:

01. Time To Think

02. Surf And Destroy

03. Fuckin’ With My Head

04. E.I.B.

05. Our Explanation

06. The Future

07. Something Beyond

08. Break It Down

09. Time Waits (For No One)

10. I Don’t Need II

11. It’s Alive

12. Look Into Myself

13. Nightmare


Track Sessions-

14. Time To Think

15. Surf & Destroy

16. Fuckin’ With My Head

17. E.I.B.

18. Our Explanation

19. The Future

20. Break It Down

21. Time Waits (For No One)

22. I Dont Need II

23. It’s Alive

24. Scream For Tomorrow

25. Nightmare