Free Music

THE SAFETY FIRE posts new track, “Red Hatchet,” online; reveals album artwork

Last week saw the announcement of London-based progressive metallers THE SAFETY FIRE’s forthcoming sophomore album, Mouth of Swords, and the band is now excited to reveal the first track to be taken from said album. Entitled “Red Hatchet”, this is the first taste of new music since the band’s debut album Grind The Ocean was released last year. Guitarist/producer Derya “Dez” Nagle had this to say about the track: “We are so excited we can finally share some new music with everyone. We are all so incredibly proud of this album and feel ‘Red Hatchet’ is a great introduction to ‘Mouth Of Swords’. Get hyped, stay ajeysie.”



Click the link below to listen to “Red Hatchet”:
You can also download “Red Hatchet” for free here:


Mouth Of Swords is set to be released on September 2nd in Europe and September 3rd in North America via InsideOut Music. See below for the album’s track-listing.


Mouth Of Swords track-listing

1. Mouth Of Swords

2. Glass Crush

3. Yellowism

4. Beware The Leopard (Jagwar) feat. Tommy Rogers (BETWEEN THE BURIED AND ME)

5. Red Hatchet

6. Wise Hands

7. The Ghosts That Wait For Spring

8. I Am Time, The Destroyer

9. Old Souls


THE SAFETY FIRE has been documenting the recording process for Mouth Of Swords, so be sure to check out the band’s four recent studio diaries below:

Vest Choir –

Vocal Tracking –

Guitar & Bass Tracking –

Drum Tracking –


Mouth Of Swords was once again produced by the band’s own Derya “Dez” Nagle (guitar), who previously worked with Frank Turner (MONGOL HORDE), RISE TO REMAIN, and THE HAARP MACHINE. It follows the release of last year’s acclaimed debut album,Grind The Ocean, which saw the band tour the world with the likes PERIPHERY, BETWEEN THE BURIED AND ME, GOJIRA, PROTEST THE HERO, amongst others. The brilliant artwork for Mouth of Swords was created by Kim Taylor.



Sept. 4th – London – Upstairs @ The Garage

Sept. 5th – Nottingham – Rock City Basement

Sept. 6th – Leeds – Cockpit 3

Sept. 7th – Glasgow – Audio

Sept. 8th – Bristol – The Exchange