THE SAFETY FIRE announces details for upcoming new album, ‘Mouth Of Swords’



London progressive metallers THE SAFETY FIRE are excited to announce the release of their forthcoming second album, Mouth Of Swords, on September 3rd in North America via InsideOut Music. The band has been hard at work on the album for the past few months, and vocalist Sean McWeeney had this to say about the completion of the record: “Since our first album we’ve all concentrated more on having awesome haircuts and facial hair. Does that go some way to explaining why ‘Mouth of Swords’ is shit hot? Some may suggest so. But all I know is I’m on it and that’s enough for most people. This album is pure gold, and will be priced accordingly.”


Guitarist and producer Derya “Dez” Nagle had this to add about the release announcement and album recording: “I must have said ‘there is no topping WINGER’s 1988 classic ‘Winger” on a daily basis during the recording process. I’ve never been wrong about anything in my whole life, so it was a rather humbling experience to realise that what we were creating was in fact better than WINGER’s 1988 classic, ‘Winger’. I felt like a bozo deluxe. After awhile I came to accept that we had created the best album of all time, ever, in the history of known time. The burden of holding such musical gold was too much for us to handle and the band agreed to release it through InsideOut Music, on September 3rd. I’d like to think the music can speak for itself, but music can’t speak, so I’ll speak on its behalf. Hello. I hope you enjoy me.”


The band is also very pleased to announce the album’s full track-listing, and as you will see below, the brilliant Tommy Rogers from touring partners BETWEEN THE BURIED AND ME has provided guest vocals on one track. Full details are below:


Mouth Of Swords track-listing

1. Mouth Of Swords

2. Glass Crush

3. Yellowism

4. Beware The Leopard (Jagwar) feat. Tommy Rogers

5. Red Hatchet

6. Wise Hands

7. The Ghosts That Wait For Spring

8. I Am Time, The Destroyer

9. Old Souls


THE SAFETY FIRE has been documenting the recording process for Mouth Of Swords, so be sure to check out the band’s four recent studio diaries below:

Vest Choir –

Vocal Tracking –

Guitar & Bass Tracking –

Drum Tracking –


Mouth Of Swords was once again produced by the band’s own Derya “Dez” Nagle (guitar), who previously worked with Frank Turner (MONGOL HORDE), RISE TO REMAIN, and THE HAARP MACHINE. It follows the release of last year’s acclaimed debut album,Grind The Ocean, which saw the band tour the world with the likes PERIPHERY, BETWEEN THE BURIED AND ME, GOJIRA, PROTEST THE HERO, amongst others.


New music from Mouth Of Swords will be revealed next week, so stay tuned!