Streaming

Stream Matmos’ New Album Via Pitchfork Advance

When not conducting parapsychological experiments in their Baltimore home, Matmos, the electronic duo of M.C. Schmidt and Drew Daniel, like to release blissful, aural mindf**ks on the unsuspecting public. Today, they offer a full stream of The Marriage of True Minds (out Feb. 19 on Thrill Jockey), their first full-length release in over five years, via Pitchfork Advance. Most recently, Matmos shared a live cover of the Buzzcocks’ “ESP” and the glitchy, bass-rattling “Teen Paranormal Romance,” both from The Marriage of True Minds. In addition to bringing their music to the web, Matmos are casting vibes through the airwaves, performing on WFMU’s World of Echo last night and WNYC’s Soundcheck this afternoon. Ableton spoke with Matmos about their current live set up, which they’re taking on the road throughout North America this month. They’ll play a mix of new and old songs but in fully transformed arrangements that feature fellow tour mates Horse Lords. No genre is off limits. Not doom metal, country, exotica or noise. There will be video pieces, improvisations, cover songs and more! Telepathic demonstrations of psychic ability may or may not occur. The tour kicks off in New York City tonight at Le Poisson Rouge. A full list of dates is below.

STREAM MATMOS’ THE MARRIAGE OF TRUE MINDS VIA PITCHFORK ADVANCE: http://pitchfork.com/advance/29-the-marriage-of-true-minds/

WATCH THE MARRIAGE OF TRUE MINDS PREVIEW:
http://bit.ly/VPJRyi

MATMOS TOUR DATES (new date in bold):
Mon. Feb. 11 – New York, NY @ Le Poisson Rouge *
Tue. Feb. 12 – Boston, MA @ The Sinclair *
Wed. Feb. 13 – Montreal, QC @ Il Motore *
Thu. Feb. 14 – Toronto, ON @ The Garrison *
Fri. Feb. 15 – Chicago, IL @ Empty Bottle *
Sat. Feb. 16 – Minneapolis, MN @ Cedar Cultural Center *%
Tue. Feb. 19 – Portland, OR @ Doug Fir *^
Wed. Feb. 20 – Seattle, WA @ Neumo’s *^
Thu. Feb. 21 – Vancouver, BC @ Media Club *
Sun. Feb. 24 – San Francisco, CA @ Public Works *
Mon. Feb. 25 – Los Angeles, CA @ Masonic Lodge at Hollywood Forever Cemetery *
Thu. Feb. 28 – Austin, TX @ The ND *
Sat. March 2 – Louisville, KY @ Zanzabar *

* with Horse Lords
% with Josef Van Wissem
^ with Mouse on Mars

The Marriage of True Minds purchase link: http://bit.ly/WduSvv

Advertisements