Music review

Triple Hex’s New EP Will Creep Into Your Conscience


Although the last tune on the EP, the opening cymbals and synth laden tune “Kill” puts into perspective the journey the listener has taken on Triple Hex’s newest effort. Part The Doors, part Stooges, part apocalyptic trance music for the hedonistic survivors, Dave Hex takes us to the dark recesses of the mind and soul through a sonic layering of punk underpinnings with goth icing. “That Ain’t Enough” takes a different turn with the throwback 60’s guitar fuzzbox sound and a rockabilly sensibility. The lyrical styling is clear, but raw, with a weird psychedelic film feel, the organ pounding through, and the bass blending with the hum of Hex’s voice. From the opening track of “Winter” it’s crystal clear where the influences derive from, but the end product is twisted so nicely that the origins are an afterthought rather than a centerpiece. Hex’s droning voice continues to work it’s creepy magic spells in “The Deranged” with the tones of a Saturday night fright fest or a murderous drive in the desert, whereas “Love Song” picks it up a notch and takes it down the Minsitry path or if Johnny Cash was a young cat and totally loaded up on ecstacy. Continuing the groove guitar gauntlet is “Viking Funeral” with a hypnotic backbeat welcomed on any roadtrip to hell. It’s dark, demonic, and dangerous in all the right ways. Don’t be surprised to hear one of these tunes show up on a soundtrack or a great show like True Blood where it would be right at home.

Guitarist / crooner Dave Hex founded Triple Hex in the early oughts in Brooklyn, releasing the rockabilly tinged Phantom Highway 13 EP in 2006 on Thigh High Records. The band followed up with extensive touring throughout Europe in 2007 before releasing a Stooges-esque three track 7” entitled Scratch My Back. The band went through a couple lineup changes before enlisting Miss Chip on 60s electric organ and Jill on drums to release their self titled full length LP on Lucinda Records in Spain and Thigh High in the US. The band’s lineup has remained the same since 2008; however, their sound has progressed over the years to their current incarnation.

Triple Hex’s E.P. will be released January 01, 2013 at 12:01 A.M. on Mon Amie Records. It was recorded and produced by Matt Verta-Ray (Heavy Trash, Madder Rose, Speedball Baby), at NYHed Studios.