Atoms and Void announce 5/20 vinyl release of And Nothing Else

It would be inaccurate to call Atoms and Void a band. Rather simply put, Atoms and Void is a conceptual collaboration of a massive host of musicians, curated and helmed by Arlie Carstons (Juno) and Eric Fisher (Damien Jurado).

The two, and their ever growing list of session musicians, recorded and rerecorded for nearly a decade to create what is now their debut album, And Nothing Else, which will see it’s debut vinyl release May 20 via Arctic Rodeo Recordings.

“Take the band’s name and album all at once: Atoms and VoidAnd Nothing Else – that’s it. There is nothing else – only the stuff that we and all things around us are made of and the absence of that stuff. There’s no middle ground. Forget every grand assumption you’ve ever had and meditate on the meaning of this, on the meaninglessness of it all.” – Critical Masses Media

Artist: Atoms and Void
Album: And Nothing Else
Label: Arctic Rodeo Recordings
Release date: May 20, 2016



1. The Architect and the Atomizer
2. Lay Down Your Weapons
3. Feathers From a Bird
4. Waves of Blood
5. For Sharon, With Love
6. Golden Shivers
7. Destroyed, the Sword of Saint Michael
8. Virginia Long Exhale
9. The Earth Countered
10. Lowercase Blues
11. The Conductor
12. This Departing Landscape

The core of Atoms and Void is formed in the friendship and songwriting partnership of Arlie Carstens and Eric Fisher. The duo’s origins can be traced back to the early 90’s, when guitarist and lyricist Arlie Carstens first heard Talk Talk’s Spirit of Eden and Laughing Stock. “Ever since first hearing those albums I’ve wanted to do a band like this, something that has a distinct sound and vision but that is not the work of a specific group of musicians; something that’s not a ‘band’ necessarily,” Carstens stated in an interview in 2005.

With that idea in mind, Carstens (formerly of Seattle post-punk band Juno) asked longtime friend and audio engineer Eric Fisher to join as his songwriting and production partner. Whenever time allowed, the two began recording songs onto 4-tracks, answering machines, micro-cassette recorders, laptops and iPhones. They recorded in cramped apartments, empty houses and tiny rehearsal spaces in Los Angeles. They recorded in real and make believe studios in Seattle, Shoreline, Sunland, Santa Monica, Studio City, Echo Park, Angelino Heights, Highland Park and downtown Los Angeles. They recorded in Portland, San Francisco, Boston, Austin, Mexico City and New York…for years.

The resulting scope of their debut album And Nothing Else is much bigger than the work of just two musicians. The cast of additional instrumentalists and audio engineers that helped to bring their compositions to life includes (but is not limited to): Nate Mendel (Sunny Day Real EstateFoo FightersJunoLieutenant), Gabe Carter (Juno), Jay Clarke (Pretty Girls Make GravesJaguar Love), Cory Murchy (Minus the Bear), Morgan Henderson (Blood BrothersFleet FoxesCave Singers), Rosie Thomas (Sufjan Stevens), Eric Akre (TreepeopleBuilt To SpillJuno), Joel Cuplin (Constant LoversTriumph of Lethargy), Josh Myers (The Fire Theft, Jeremy EnigkRosie Thomas), Drew O’Doherty (Ted Leo & the Pharmacists), Griffin Rodriguez (Icy DemonsNeed New Body), Toshi Kasai (MelvinsBig Business, Lieutenant), Kory Kruckenberg (J. TillmanThe Revenant), Jenna Conrad (Avians AlightDamien Jurado), and Lena Simon (PollensLa LuzKairos) among others.

To date, Atoms and Void has recorded 33 songs. Along the way they’ve had a laptop stolen in Toronto and crashed a hard drive in Seattle, circumstances which have caused the duo to pause for years at a stretch while figuring out how best to record the album. Twice. Early versions of some of these songs have floated around the Internet for years, (“Destroyed,” “The Sword of St. Michael,” “Lay Down Your Weapons,” and “Waves of Blood”). Folks rip them, trade them, and write social media odes to them. For a handful of listeners, the album has taken on an almost mythic resonance.

And Nothing Else has in this sense already created a life of it’s own, and was recently released to the Internet world in-full by way of Bandcamp. The hushed release gained resonance organically, and one year later, Fisher and Carstens were approached by Arctic Rodeo Recordings for a proper vinyl pressing. Thus, And Nothing Else will take on a new life on May 20, when the album will be made available on limited edition pink and marsh blue-green vinyl. Helmed by two deeply introverted weirdos and their beloved cadre of session players (all with an astounding level of trust and determination), the 12 tracks within offer a dark, slow, heady and heartbreaking world of sounds and experiences.

“The two collaborators, once emotionally raw and angry in Juno and during its immediate aftermath, are now just emotionally raw. The result – the newfound sonic palette, the experimental touches, the inclination to let the music rather than words do the communicating – is a harrowing and heartbreaking document, an ode to a darker place, and a realization of and reaction to knowing that you don’t know anything, and most people around you know even less.” – Critical Masses Media


Categories: Announcement/News