Rainbow Chan To Release Debut EP


Rainbow Chan is a Sydney solo artist and producer with a love for story-telling. Whether she is stitching together childhood dreams, rummaging through flea markets or sampling odd sounds, Rainbow is constantly collecting bits and pieces for her music.

An eclectic mix of electronic and acoustic textures, Rainbow Chan’s songs are delicately-crafted gems embedded in the nostalgic imagination. Live loops are created with music-boxes, thumb-pianos and vintage toys sourced from antique fairs. Lilting guitar finger-picking is matched with 8-bit keyboards, distorted beats and glockenspiels. Experimentation is interlaced with the other-worldly charm of her voice.

Rainbow’s love for intertwining sounds, colours and visuals has attracted the attention of blogs, radio and in October 2011, FBi Radio’s Northern Lights Competition. Rainbow Chan and Oliver Tank won the opportunity to collaborate and perform at the cutting edge Iceland Airwaves Festival alongside the likes of Björk, Beach House, SBTRKT and Ólafur Arnalds.

Since then, Rainbow has been making an impression on the live circuit nationwide with her bizarre yet sweet juxtaposition of loops, dissonant harmonies and sounds. She has released two singles, “Sweet Tooth” and “Rabbit and Fox”, both of which are moody and sensuous pieces of electronica. She has continued to broaden her sound, working with orchestra and string quartet, exploring noise music, and most recently singing in Karen O’s (Yeah Yeah Yeahs) “Stop the Virgens” as part of Vivid Festival.


Click Here To Listen To “Skinny Dipping”

Press Quotes

“Sydney resident Chan’s faultless tones and penchant for knitting together classical and electronic elements will no doubt bring about comparisons with Bjork; there’s enough to  to suggest that Rainbow Chan carries the same darkly chaotic brainwaves.” – The Line Of Best Fit

“Rainbow pours her heart into this truly beautiful track, laden with plonky piano notes and a glorious live string section. Her vocal work is second to none, and as the thick, slow beats drop into the mix, the track becomes a driving force, unabashedly displaying her pure love and emotion.” – Live For The Funk

Long Vacation EP Tracklisting

1. In A Foreign Tongue
2. Skinny Dipping
3. Fool’s Gold
4. Haircut
5. Milk


Silo Arts