LEPROUS completes work on new album; reveals title and release dates

After finishing off a very eventful past year of promotions for their previous album release, Bilateral, acclaimed Norwegian progsters LEPROUS entered the studio to start recording their next album after wrapping up their “European Progressive Assault” headlining tour in September/October 2012.

This new album is entitled Coal, and it will be released on May 20th in Europe and on May 28th in North America via InsideOut Music.

LEPROUS singer/synth-player Einar Solberg comments about the release:

“With our upcoming album ‘Coal,’ I feel we are one step closer to a personal expression. Heidi Solberg Tveitan and Vegard Tveitan of Mnemosyne were the producers of this album, together with LEPROUS. They helped us a lot with reaching the full potential of the songs, and the album would not be equally good without their expertise. 
Jens Bogren and Tony Lindgren @ Fascination Street Studios mixed the material and have made this album shine like nobody else could. 
 I see less interest in defining music than in creating music, but I will give a short overview on what to expect…
‘Coal’ is a more melancholic and darker album than the more playful ‘Bilateral’. By darker I don’t mean more aggressive, but more severe. There is still a big range in the dynamics, but no jumping between different moods within a song. We cannot wait to show this album to the world!”

Check out a studio-video from the drum recording sessions for
Coal here:
In support of this upcoming release, LEPROUS has already confirmed a string of prominent summer festival appearances (Wacken, Hellfest, Tuska, etc.):

16.03.2013 – Porsgrunn (Norway) – Folkets Hus / Break The Ice ’13
21.04.2013 – Tilburg (The Netherlands) – 013 / Roadburn Festival – Afterburner (
27.04.2013 – Amstelveen (The Netherlands) – Headway Festival (
08.06.2013 – Sölvesborg (Sweden) – Sweden Rock Festival (
21.06.2013 – Clisson (France) – Hellfest (
28.06.2013 – Helsinki (Finland) – Tuska Open Air (
21.07.2013 – Tolmin (Slovenia) – Metal Dayz Festival (
01.-03.08.2013 – Wacken (Germany) – Wacken Open Air (
09.08.2013 – Josefov (Czech Republic) – Brutal Assault Festival (
16.-17.08.2013 – Saint Palais Sur Mer (France) – Crescendo Festival (

LEPROUS line-up:
(pictured from left to right)
Tor Oddmund Suhrke – guitar
Øystein Landsverk – guitar
Einar Solberg – synth/vocals
Tobias Ørnes Andersen – drums