Announcement/News

Angel Olsen Signs To Jagjaguwar; Kicks Off Headline Tour This Week

292

 

Angel Olsen has a fresh edge to her sound, a warm and wonderful range so rarely found, and an otherworldly skill and charm. In a live setting and on record, she wholly captivates, creating an emotional stew with her robust voice up front, bold and engaging, aching to be heard. Following an excellent six months since the release of Half Way Home where fans and media alike have begun to recognize her very special presence, we are excited to announce Angel has signed to Jagjaguwar, a fitting home comprised of a team that has been a true fan of Angel’s elegance and extraordinariness since the earliest days of her career. She joins a roster of artists including Bon Iver, Sharon Van Etten, Foxygen, Dinosaur Jr. and Unknown Mortal Orchestra.

 

Speaking of those early days, Angel’s debut solo album, Strange Cactiis finally available again in a limited 2nd edition pressing on Bathetic. And, Bathetic will also be releasing Half Way Home on CD for the first timecome May 14th.

Strange Cacti LP pre-order link – http://batheticrecords.com/release/strange-cacti/ 

Half Way Home CD/LP/digital purchase link – http://batheticrecords.com/release/half-way-home/

This week kicks off Ms. Olsen’s first tour of the west coast! Catch Angel (guitar) and her band — Danah Olivetree (cello), Stewart Bronaugh (bass) and Joshua Jaeger (drums) – headline intimate settings now, because if Angel’s future looks as bright as we believe it will be, she won’t be playing in rooms of this size for long! Following the west coast tour, Angel will head overseas to Ireland and the UK and then will return stateside to play a run of shows opening for Kurt Vile, plus her own headlining show at Glasslands in NY and the Pitchfork Music Festival in July.

 

ANGEL OLSEN TOUR DATES:

(new shows in bold) 

Sat. April 6 – San Francisco, CA @ Rickshaw Stop

Sun. April 7 – Santa Cruz, CA @ Crepe Place

Mon. April 8 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Echo

Tue. April 9 – San Diego, CA @ Casbah

Wed. April 10 – Phoenix, AZ @ Trunk Space

Fri. April 12 – Tucson, AZ @ Solar Culture

Sat. April 13 – Santa Fe, NM @ High Mayhem

Sun. April 14 – Denver, CO @ Hi-Dive

Mon. April 15 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Kilby Court

Tue. April 16 – Boise, ID @ Neurolux

Thu. April 18 – Portland, OR @ Bunk Bar

Fri. April 19 – Seattle, WA @ Barboza

Sat. April 20 – Seattle, WA @ Sonic Boom Records [RECORD STORE DAY]

Sun. April 21 – Vancouver, BC @ Media Club

Mon. April 22 – Cottage Grove, OR @ Opal Center for Arts & Education

Wed. April 24 – Sacramento, CA @ Bows & Arrows

Thu. May 2 – Dublin, IE @ Whelans

Fri. May 3 – Cork, IE @ Half Moon Theatre

Sat. May 4 – Sun. May 5 – Kilkenny Roots Festival, IE

Mon. May 6 – Belfast, UK @ Black Box

Wed. May 8 – London, UK @ Cinema Museum [SOLD OUT]

Thu. May 16 – New York, NY @ Bowery Ballroom w/ Kurt Vile [SOLD OUT]

Fri. May 17 – Boston, MA @ The Sinclair w/ Kurt Vile

Sat. May 18 – Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer w/ Kurt Vile

Sun. May 19 – Brooklyn, NY @ Glasslands

Fri. July 19 – Chicago, IL @ Pitchfork Music Festival

Fri. Aug. 16 – Chicago, IL @ Lincoln Hall

Fri. Aug. 30 – Sun. Sep. 1 – Larmer Tree Gardens, UK @ End of the Road Festival

WATCH & LISTEN:

“Sweet Dreams” video – https://vimeo.com/55317322

“Tiniest Seed” video – https://vimeo.com/55315704

“Tiniest Seed” stream – http://snd.sc/P9f3UD

“The Waiting” stream – http://snd.sc/PlRYQa

“Acrobat” video – https://vimeo.com/48485396

“Ms. Olsen understands the power of holding back, and feeding out extravagance in small portions. People stopped buying drinks; the bartenders put their elbows on the counter, engrossed. It was remarkable. . . Ms. Olsen has found her sound – her voice, alone and untreated and slow, conjoined with the specific resonance of her guitar – and she’s able to replicate a private discovery in front of a crowd. That’s a lot.” – The New York Times

“11 tracks of rough-hewn folk, shimmering and ribboned with dirt-packed veins, sung by a voice that curls and dips and dissolves like a black smoke plume.”

– Pitchfork [2012 Albums of the Year: Honorable Mention]

“Songs on [Half Way Home] had much in common with the passions and range of a singer like Roy Orbison. The common thread between that powerful singer-songwriter and hit-maker from Texas and this more delicate Midwesterner is that they both write from the heart and sing with a range that may make you stop what you’re doing and drop your jaw a bit.” – NPR Music

 

“On ‘Half Way Home,’ she waltzes through 11 gems that highlight a minimalist guitarist with a gentle touch and a voice whose range is as wide as it is controlled.” – Los Angeles Times

 

“It’s not just Angel Olsen’s range that makes her voice so unforgettable; it’s the surprise turns she’s learned to produce by manipulating it.” – The FADER

 

Angel Olsen online:

http://angelolsen.com/ | website by teacups (teacups.io)

http://batheticrecords.com/half_way_home/

http://www.jagjaguwar.com/

http://www.facebook.com/angelolsenmusic

http://www.pitchperfectpr.com/a_angel.html

Advertisements