Movies

WATCH SHORT ICEAGE DOCUMENTARY BY CALI DEWITT

Prior to the release of Iceage‘s sophomore album, You’re Nothing, out now on Matador Records, the Copenhagen four-piece made a trip to New York for performances at 285 Kent and the “Thrown Together” gallery event at Home Sweet Home, which featured performances and visuals by Iceage, as well as their peers, inspirations and more. Cali Dewitt made a short documentary around Iceage’s visit, set to audio of a live performance of You’re Nothingstandout track, “Morals.” Watch the documentary via Pitchfork TV and catch Iceage live as they begin their tour of North America later this month.

 

ICEAGE TOUR DATES:

Thu. March 7 – Leipzig, DE @ UT Connewitz

Fri. March 8 – Munster, DE @ Gleiss 22

Sat. March 9 – Gronigen, NL @ Vera

Sun. March 10 – Hamburg, DE @ Hafenklang

Wed. March 20 – Vancouver, BC @ the Biltmore w/ Spectres

Thu. March 21 – Seattle, WA @ Barboza

Fri. March 22 – Olympia, WA @ Capital Theater (backstage)

Sat. March 23 – Portland, OR @ Star Theater

Mon. March 25 – San Francisco, CA @ Rickshaw Stop w/ Merchandise, Wet Hair

Tue. March 26 – Oakland, CA @ New Parish w/ Merchandise, Wet Hair

Thu. March 28 – Bakersfield, CA @ Munoz Gym w/ Milk Music

Fri. March 29 – Los Angeles, CA @ Echoplex w/ Milk Music

Sun. March 31 – San Diego, CA @ Casbah w/ Milk Music

Mon. April 1 – Tempe, AZ @ Deadhorse Warehouse w/ Milk Music, Destruction Unit

Thu. April 4 – Denver, CO @ Marquis Theater w/ Merchandise, Wet Hair

Sat. April 6 – Grinnell, IA @ Grinnell College w/ Wet Hair – FREE SHOW

Sun. April 7 – Minneapolis, MN @ Triple Rock Club

Tue. April 9 – Madison, WI @ University of Wisconsin – FREE SHOW

Wed. April 10 – Chicago, IL @ Empty Bottle w/ Final Grin

Thu. April 11 – Columbus, OH @ Ace of Cups

Fri. April 12 – Pittsburgh, PA @ 6119

Tue. April 16 – Burlington, VT @ Monkey House w/ White Lung

Wed. April 17 – Boston, MA @ TT the Bear’s w/ White Lung

Thu. April 18 – New Haven, CT @ Lilly’s Pad (Toad’s Place Upstairs)

Fri. April 19 – Philadelphia, PA @ First Unitarian Church w/ White Lung

Sat. April 20 – New York, NY @ Bowery Ballroom w/ White Lung

Thu. May 30 – Sun. June 2 – Austin, TX @ Chaos in Tejas w/ Lower

Mon. June 3 – Houston, TX @ Mango’s w/ Lower

Tue. June 4 – New Orleans, LA @ Siberia w/ Lower

Wed. June 5 – Gainesville, FL @ The Atlantic w/ Lower

Fri. June 7 – Miami, FL @ Churchill’s w/ Lower

Sat. June 8 – Tampa, FL @ Crowbar w/ Lower

Sun. June 9 – Atlanta, GA @ The Earl w/ Lower

Mon. June 10 – Charlotte, NC @ The Milestone w/ Lower

Tue. June 11 – Richmond, VA @ Strange Matter w/ Lower

Wed. June 12 – Washington, DC @ Rock and Roll Hotel w/ Lower

Thu. June 13 – Brooklyn, NY @ Music Mall of Williamsburg [Northside Music Festival] w/ Lower

Sat. June 15 – Sun. June 16 – Toronto, ON @ NXNE Music Festival w/ Lower

Mon. June 17 – Ottawa, ON @ Babylon w/ Lower

Tue. June 18 – Montreal, QC @ Il Motore w/ Lower

WHAT’S BEEN SAID ABOUT YOU’RE NOTHING:

“You’re Nothing turns everything up – it’s smarter, faster, catchier and noisier than their debut, more a Funhouse than a Rock for Light. This points to another pleasure of the underground: watching young bands go from good to great in real time.” — SPIN

“Iceage has only improved on its formula of turbulent energy and disaffected poetry, managing still to sound youthful, even juvenile – not such a stretch, age-wise – while reaching toward new ambitions.”  — The New York Times

“Iceage write brilliant songs; on You’re Nothing, they’ve found a way to clarify these compositional skills without stripping away their power . . . New Brigade was: “brittle” in an excellently fuzzed, rancid way, but You’re Nothing is a heftier experience.” — Pitchfork [BEST NEW MUSIC]

“Even on their raw 2011 debut, Iceage knew how to sculpt the noise into songs, but You’re Nothing is a huge jump forward.” – Rolling Stone

“Iceage still thrills here, hurtling through tangled, fuzzed-out hard-core jams that rarely stretch past the three-minute mark. Yet Ronnenfelt and his band mates haven’t passed up the opportunity, so juicy on an anticipated follow-up, to deepen their sound.” — Los Angeles Times

“The band’s second exercise in the dark arts bulks up their sound without losing its ascetic ferocity”  — Entertainment Weekly

 

You’re Nothing purchase link – http://store.matadorrecords.com/you-re-nothing

Download hi-res jpegs of Iceage & You’re Nothing album art – http://www.pitchperfectpr.com/a_ice.html

 

Iceage online:

http://iceagecopenhagen.blogspot.com/

http://www.matadorrecords.com/

2 replies »

  1. Hmm it seems like your site ate my first comment (it was super long)
    so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I had written and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.
    I too am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to the whole thing. Do you have any suggestions for beginner blog writers? I’d genuinely appreciate it.