Stick to Your Guns at Mr. Small’s Theatre on 2/14

OC hardcore band Stick to Your Guns released their latest full-length True View in October via Pure Noise. Listen to the evocative album in its entirety here via Alternative Press along with an in-depth interview with vocalist Jesse Barnett.

Also, you can check out their sonically electrifying tracks “Married To The Noise” and “The Sun, The Moon, The Truth: Penance of Self.”

“I really wanted to intentionally create an album that sonically reflects the feeling of modern life: depression, anger, fear, hope, happiness, forgiveness and clarity,” guitarist Josh James says. “A feeling of breaking through the dark shit in life and the journey of the struggle that ends up elevating you to a new, smarter, stronger, better version of yourself.”

Stick to Your Guns is heading out on the road in the new year with metalcore contemporaries Architects and Counterparts, stopping at Mr. Small‘s Theatre in Millvale, PA on 2/14.

Angel Olsen Releases “Hi-Five” Video & Extends U.S. Tour Into April & May

Last week, NPR Music unveiled Angel Olsen‘s very intimate Tiny Desk Concert, which showcased four previously unreleased songs from Angel’s new album, Burn Your Fire for No Witness (out Feb. 18 on Jagjaguwar). Angel recently sat down with Pitchfork to discuss the new album, for which anticipation is building as Rolling Stone named her one of“10 New Artists You Need To Know” in January. Today, Angel shares the stunning new video for Burn Your Fire‘s excellent second single, “Hi-Five.” Directed by frequent Angel collaborator Zia Anger, the “Hi-Five” video simulates a television broadcast from the 60s and 70s, where female pop stars do choreographed performances in grandiose studios with sparkling, modern sets. Anger says, “They were always so wild and psychedelic and humorous from afar. The more you watch them, the more wooden and awkward the performances become. There is a certain loneliness captured. The song ‘Hi-Five’ seems to contain the same sort of duality.” In making the video, Angel and Anger decided to revisit the technique of these 60s and 70s broadcasts and tapped Creatures of the Wind for appropriate styling. Filming took place in an old studio with the junk left in it to create an epic space, achieving a demented, totally sincere and hallucinatory video.

 

Angel is pleased to announce the extension of her U.S. headline tour in support of Burn Your Fire for No Witness through April and May. A full list of dates is below.

 

WATCH ANGEL OLSEN’S “HI-FIVE” VIDEO:

http://bit.ly/1erwVFo

 

Angel Olsen’s NPR Music Tiny Desk Concert: http://n.pr/1n8xk3k

Angel Olsen’s “Hi-Five” stream: http://bit.ly/1euopTP

Angel Olsen’s “Forgiven/Forgotten” video: http://youtu.be/PinTAGbIsV4

Angel Olsen’s “Forgiven/Forgotten” stream: http://bit.ly/1fE0CSU

ANGEL OLSEN TOUR DATES (new dates in bold):

Tue. Feb. 18 – Charlottesville, VA @ The Southern

Thu. Feb. 20 – New York, NY @ Le Poisson Rouge

Sat. Feb. 22 – Nashville, TN @ The Stone Fox

Sun. Feb. 23 – Fayetteville, AR @ JR’s Lightbulb Club

Mon. Feb. 24 – Dallas, TX @ Three Links

Tue. Feb. 25 – Austin, TX @ Red 7

Sat. March 1 – San Diego, CA @ Soda Bar

Sun. March 2 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Echoplex

Mon. March 3 – San Francisco, CA @ Great American Music Hall

Wed. March 5 – Portland, OR @ Mississippi Studios

Thu. March 6 – Vancouver, BC @ Media Club

Fri. March 7 – Seattle, WA @ Barboza

Sat. March 8 – Moscow, ID @ Mikey’s Gyros

Mon. March 10 – Denver, CO @ Larimer Lounge

Tue. March 11-Sun. March 16 – Austin, TX @ SXSW

Sun. March 23 – Manchester, UK @ Soup Kitchen

Tue. March 25 – London, UK @ Dingwalls

Wed. March 26 – Paris, FR @ Divan Du Monde [LFSM Festival]

Thu. March 27 – Amiens, FR @ La Lune des Pirates [LFSM Festival]

Fri. March 28 – Koeln, DE @ King George

Sat. March 29 – Berlin, DE @ Hau 1

Sun. March 30 – Copenhagen, DK @ Vega

Mon. March 31 – Stockholm, SE @ Scandic Grand Central

Tue. April 1 – Oslo, NO @ Cafe Mono

Wed. April 2 – Goteborg, SE @ Pustervik

Thu. April 3 – Hamburg, DE @ Haus 73 / Kleiner Donner

Fri. April 4 – Leuven, BE @ Stuk

Sat. April 5 – Rotterdam, NL @ Motel Mozaique

Sun. April 6 – Amsterdam, NL @ Paradiso

Thu. April 24 – Atlanta, GA @ The Earl

Fri. April 25 – Birmingham, AL @ The Bottletree

Sat. April 26 – Louisville, KY @ Zanzabar

Sun. April 27 – St. Louis, MO @ Off Broadway

Mon. April 28 – Kansas City, MO @ Riot Room

Tue. April 29 – Omaha, NE @ The Waiting Room

Thu. May 1 – Minneapolis, MN @ Cedar Cultural Center

Sun. May 4 – Chicago, IL @ Lincoln Hall

Mon. May 5 – Bloomington, IN @ The Bishop

Wed. May 7 – Toronto, ON @ The Garrison

Thu. May 8 – Montreal, QC @ Il Motore

Fri. May 9 – Cambridge, MA @ The Sinclair

Sat. May 10 – New Haven, CT @ Cafe Nine

Sun. May 11 – Providence, RI @ Fete Lounge

Wed. May 14 – Philadelphia, PA @ Johnny Brenda’s

Thu. May 15 – Washington, DC @ Rock and Roll Hotel

Fri. May 16 – Carrboro, NC @ Cat’s Cradle

Sat. May 17 – Asheville, NC @ Grey Eagle

 

“Why She’ll Be Big: ‘Forgiven/Forgotten,’ the song you can hear now from Olsen’s second album, Burn Your Fire for No Witness, will singe anyone expecting the haunted-coffeehouse strumming she has become cultishly known for. But the rest of Burn blearily combines raw rock and harrowing folk, for a captivating listen that will be crucial to hear live . . . “

— Entertainment Weekly [14 Rising Stars to Watch In 2014]

“While the arrangements are more muscular than before, her high-arching voice remains unobstructed and completely devastating.”

— SPIN [50 Albums You Gotta Hear in 2014]

“On ‘Forgiven/Forgotten’ the explosive lead-off single from her second album, Burn Your Fire for No Witness, the instruments around her finally match the intensity of her voice.”

— Pitchfork [Best New Track]

 

“Her new album doesn’t come out till February, but it’s an early frontrunner for one of Bob Boilen’s favorites in 2014.”

— NPR Music‘s “All Songs Considered”

“Of all the musicians releasing new albums early this year, Angel Olsen is one who merits particular attention.”

— The Wall Street Journal

“here’s second taste ‘Hi-Five,’ an equally expansive track that chugs and howls, its pounded piano and thwacking kick drums still no match for Olsen’s ferocity as she blows up a partnership that leaves something to be desired.”

— The FADER

 

“Hi-Five” iTunes purchase link: https://itunes.apple.com/album/hi-five-single/id792862178

Burn Your Fire for No Witness iTunes pre-order w/ “Forgiven/Forgotten” instant download:http://smarturl.it/angelolsen_itunes

Burn Your Fire for No Witness Amazon pre-order: http://smarturl.it/angelolsen_amazon

Angel Olsen online:

http://angelolsen.com/

http://www.jagjaguwar.com/

https://www.facebook.com/angelolsenmusic

http://www.pitchperfectpr.com/a_angel.html

Stream Temples’ Debut Album, Sun Structures

Hailing from Kettering, England, Temples have quickly made fans at home and aboard without even an album to their name. But that all changes with the release of their debut full-length, Sun Structures, out February 11th on Fat Possum. Starting today, NPR Music is streaming Sun Structures in its entirety via their First Listen series and CBC has our neighbors to the north covered with a First Play. The album contains the band’s instant classics, “Shelter Song,” “Keep In The Dark” and “Colours To Life,” as well as their blistering first single, “Mesmerise.” Temples gave North American audiences an early preview of Sun Structures last fall, touring in support of their debut 7″ on Fat Possum. This spring they make their triumphant return with stops at the Coachella Valley Music and Arts Festival and Austin Psych Fest. Before gracing our shores, Temples will join Interpolon the NME Awards Tour. A full list of dates is below.

STREAM TEMPLES’ SUN STRUCTURES VIA NPR MUSIC:

http://n.pr/Lrpe6W  

 

STREAM TEMPLES’ SUN STRUCTURES VIA CBC:

http://bit.ly/1aWqM5e 

 

TEMPLES TOUR DATES (new dates in bold):

Tue. Mar. 18 – Glasgow, UK @ O2 Academy ^

Wed. Mar. 19 – Leeds, UK @ O2 Academy ^

Thu. Mar. 20 – Manchester, UK @ Academy ^

Sat. Mar. 22 – Liverpool, UK @ O2 Academy ^

Sun. Mar. 23 – Nottingham, UK @ Rock City ^

Tue. Mar. 25 – Birmingham, UK @ O2 Academy ^

Wed. Mar. 26 – Bristol, UK @ O2 Academy ^

Thu. Mar. 27 – London, UK @ O2 Academy Brixton ^

Tue. April 8 – Vancouver, BC @ Biltmore Cabaret *

Wed. April 9 – Seattle, WA @ Neumo’s *

Thu. April 10 – Portland, OR @ Star Theater (Soul’d Out Fest) *

Sat. April 12 – Indio, CA @ Coachella

Sun. April 13 – Santa Cruz, CA @ The Catalyst Atrium

Mon. April 14 – San Francisco, CA @ Great American Music Hall *

Wed. April 16 – San Diego, CA @ Casbah *

Sat. April 19 – Indio, CA @ Coachella

Mon. April 21 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Urban Lounge *

Tue. April 22 – Denver, CO @ Bluebird *

Thu. April 24 – St. Paul, MN @ Turf Club *

Fri. April 25 – Madison, WI @ High Noon *

Sat. April 26 – Chicago, IL @ Lincoln Hall *

Sun. April 27 – Detroit, MI @ Magic Stick *

Mon. April 28 – Columbus, OH @ A+R Bar *

Wed. April 30 – St. Louis, MO @ Firebird *

Thu. May 1 – Kansas City, MO @ Record Bar *

Fri. May 2 – Dallas, TX @ Club Dada *

Sat. May 3 – Austin, TX @ Austin Psych Fest

^ w/ Interpol

* w/ support from Drowners

Praise for Temples:

“‘Colours To Life’ adeptly balances both their idols’ folk-pop roots and psych-rock branches . . . It’s an unearthing of a time capsule for sure, but ‘Colours To Life’ still can feel like a breath of fresh air.”

– Pitchfork

 

“a small-scale epic. “Mesmerise” does just that, somehow cramming six or seven minutes’ worth of propulsive hallucinatory pop into just under four. Tame Impala, meet your fiercest competition.”

– Stereogum

 

“It’s prim but powerful, shifting from jittery verses to booming, Zeppelin-esque choruses. And, for your own good, just go ahead and leave that sugar-sweet guitar hook where it’s stuck now – in your brain, corkscrewing deeper and deeper, without any hope of ever exiting.”

– SF Weekly

 

“Temples specialize in ’60s-washed psychedelia, blending anemic vocals and shaggy melodies into a wonderfully murky swirl.”

– SPIN

“with their retro-inspired debut Sun Structures…they seem poised to live up to-and, yes, surpass-the hype.”

– Nylon

“Temples arrived with a fully developed sound… Stereo-panned guitars jangle brightly as background vocals drift away in the distance like morning mist. Tambourines discreetly haunt the margins of the soundscape as sonorous, loosely-tuned drums ring in the foreground under a memorable vocal hook.”

– Paste

 

Pre-order Sun Structures on iTunes or LP/CD

Temples’ “Mesmerise” video: http://youtu.be/K0pc1bFUbLo

Temples’ “Shelter Song” video: http://youtu.be/vs4i41cOv0s

Temples’ “Keep In The Dark” video: http://youtu.be/99U9-zRHXf0

Temples’ “Colours To Life” video: http://youtu.be/tUGEnXz4EG8

Temples online:

http://www.templestheband.com

http://www.facebook.com/templesofficial

http://www.youtube.com/templesofficial

http://www.twitter.com/templesofficial

http://www.soundcloud.com/templesofficial

http://www.fatpossum.com

http://www.pitchperfectpr.com/a_temples.html

http://www.redlightmanagement.com