BL’AST! To Release Alternative Version Of Cult Debut LP Via Southern Lord

Following announcements over recent months proclaiming the release of Blood! – the newly-released but vintage recordings from iconic ’80s Santa Cruz surf/skate/hardcore act, BL’AST! – the band then confirmed their current live lineup which took over stages in the US last year for the first time in over a decade and a half. Original BL’AST! alumni, vocalist Clifford Dinsmore (also of Dusted Angel, Gargantula) and guitarist Mike Neider recruited Nick Oliveri (Kyuss, Queens of the Stone Age, Mondo Generator) on bass and drummer Hoss Wright (The Exies, Mondo Generator) to flesh out the brand new live lineup.


Now, Southern Lord will continue the new saga of BL’AST! with the mid-March release of The Expression Of Power. Flashing back to the mid-’80s, the band recorded their debut several times before finally emerging from the studio with their cult masterpiece The Power of Expression. The new issue of the LP will feature, for the first time ever, an alternate version (the Track Sessions) of the album, all fully remastered by Brad Boatright at Audiosiege. On March 18th Southern Lord will makeThe Expression Of Power available on CD and 3xLP including a twenty-eight page booklet with tons ofBL’AST! photos from the mid-’80s. BL’AST!‘s boundary-pushing form of hardcore, advanced musicianship, unstoppable energy and intense perseverance is as prominent now as it ever was.


BL’AST! has confirmed several new stateside live actions, including a show tomorrow, Tuesday, February 18th in San Francisco, followed by a hometown rager in Santa Cruz in mid-April. In June they’ll cross the Atlantic to perform at the infamous Hellfest, in Clisson, France. AdditionalBL’AST! live actions will be announced in the coming weeks.


BL’AST! Live:

2/18/2014 The Chapel – San Francisco, CA

4/18/2014 The Catalyst – Santa Cruz, CA

6/21/2014 Hellfest – Clisson, France


The Expression Of Power Track Listing:

01. Time To Think

02. Surf And Destroy

03. Fuckin’ With My Head

04. E.I.B.

05. Our Explanation

06. The Future

07. Something Beyond

08. Break It Down

09. Time Waits (For No One)

10. I Don’t Need II

11. It’s Alive

12. Look Into Myself

13. Nightmare


Track Sessions-

14. Time To Think

15. Surf & Destroy

16. Fuckin’ With My Head

17. E.I.B.

18. Our Explanation

19. The Future

20. Break It Down

21. Time Waits (For No One)

22. I Dont Need II

23. It’s Alive

24. Scream For Tomorrow

25. Nightmare


Santa Cruz punk rockers Stellar Corpses are premiering an all-new Halloween edition video for their debut single “Vampire Kiss,” today at AOL’s Noisecreep! Recently filmed in Hollywood at a raucous house party, by director Jared Sagal (Rockerrazzi Films), check out the band performing the track singer Dusty Sheehan tells Noisecreep “is a tribute to the greatest vampire movie of all time, The Lost Boys, filmed in our hometown of Santa Cruz.” The band also recorded two webisodes full of behind-the-scenes footage and interviews to accompany the video.

Stellar Corpses’ new studio album Dead Stars Drive-In was produced by multi-platinum, Grammy Award-winning Joe McGrath (AFI, Morrissey, Green Day, Blink-182, Alkaline Trio). Blending a musical amalgamation of punk, rockabilly, hard rock and melodic rock, thrown in for good measure, Dead Stars Drive-In defies musical expectations. In support of the release, Stellar Corpses have recently been on tour supporting Tiger Army, punk rock legends TSOL, Nekromantix, Voodoo Glow Skulls, and classic horror punk rockers The Misfits. The band recently added a new slate of Southern California live shows, with additional tour dates to be announced.

With musical influences ranging from Elvis, Black Flag, Social Distortion, Stray Cats, and Bad Religion, to Black Sabbath, The Misfits, Danzig, Rancid, Sepultura and Megadeth, it’s no wonder Stellar Corpses chose to work with producer McGrath pouring everything they had into a stellar first album. Dead Stars Drive-In features special guest turns from Hunter Burgan and Jade Puget from the revolutionary goth punk band AFI, and Michale Graves of The Misfits.
Dead Stars Drive-In covers all sorts of subjects beginning with the title track, an ode to the dark side of Hollywood and how some of its brightest stars eventually burned out. “But to this day, their lights shine as bright as ever, and we will go on loving them always,” Sheehan explains.

Stellar Corpses, which literally means “dead stars” in astronomy (Grave’s idea from studying astronomy in college), have become a fixture in the Santa Cruz hard rock music scene over the years. They are by no means an overnight success story. The band met in high school and have been around, playing clubs, building their fan base one-by-one with their dynamic and interactive live shows.

Stellar Corpses is Dusty Sheehan on vocals and lead guitar, Dan Lamothe on upright bass and backing vocals, Emilio Menze on guitar and backing vocals, with Kyle Moore on drums.


October 30 The Viper Room Los Angeles, CA
November 1 The Hood Palm Desert, CA
November 2 Bar Eleven San Diego, CA
November 3 So Cali Studio Los Angeles, CA
November 4 Slide Bar Fullerton, CA
November 10 The Cosmopolitan/Sunset Sessions Las Vegas, NV
November 30 The Alley Sparks, NV
December 01 Oakland Metro Oakland, CA
May 25, 2013 Tucson Rodeo Grounds (Hot Rods and Horror Festival) Tucson, AZ

* additional dates TBA