PHARMACOSE Releases Newest Single, “Smash”!


Jacksonville, FL Alternative Rock project PHARMACOSE has revealed their newest single, “Smash,” off of their newly combined LP, Prescription Fiction. Originally intended as a 2 album release that was ultimately disrupted by worldwide events in 2020, front-man and songwriter Wes Jones reapproached the focus and tone, broadening Prescription Fiction both stylistically and technically, with the result being an incredibly nuanced and introspective discussion of our modern society and cultural norms, all backed with a carefully constructed soundscape and instrumentation.

“The music for ‘Smash’ has been written for a very long time, but I just had not gotten around to recording it with Lu until a couple years ago. When I was trying to decide what to write the lyrics about, I felt that we had done a lot on mental health, so I wanted to branch out a bit. I have always been interested in what I call the ‘fun conspiracy theories,’ notably things such as UFOs, ancient aliens, the Mothman, etc. Growing up, I had a great uncle who was a brilliant aerospace engineer, and he was into all this stuff. It was really cool to see someone with such a strong science and engineering background and was into all this. So, I wanted to explore that interest some more. I came to realize that reading about those subjects made me feel very isolated, since it’s not a mainstream way of thinking. It made me a bit sad to think that. It made me wonder how many people were knowledgeable in this area but took this information to the grave because no one was interested in hearing about it. These realizations were the literal ‘smash.’ The irony is that now I feel a bit more justified due to all the information about UFOs that came out over the summer. I suppose that the sentiment this song conveys is a bit dated now with all this crazy footage being released, but I think the feelings of isolation are legitimate. I’m by no means saying that I think aliens are here and the Mothman exists, but I think we should be open to the notion that the normal person has no idea about what’s really going on.” – Wes Jones (Singer)


Download / Stream “Smash” Online:



Pharmacose is a collaborative alternative rock project hailing from Jacksonville, FL, that combines steadfast analog sounds with cutting edge flair. The project– a portmanteau of “pharmaceutical” and “comatose” –began as a collaborative effort between Jones and producer and bassist Lucio Rubino. Frequent collaborators include drummer Albert Cruz and guitarist Kevin Horne, who also round out their live act. They have previously released material under the name Digital Array.

Jones, a Memphis native, formed Pharmacose in 2017 with producer Lu Rubino shortly after moving to Jacksonville to pursue new career opportunities. Rubino, a veteran producer and bassist, has worked with ParamoreStoryside B, and The Showdown, among many others. Their creative process was chiefly inspired by Jones, a medical doctor, and his past struggles with mental illness.

Drawing on such themes as reintegration to life in the wake of acute mental health episodes and the side effects of psychiatric medication, Pharmacose wields their brand of rock to let those suffering from mental illness to know that they are not alone. The result is a powerful, explosive lyrical journey into the depths of existence that would appeal to fans of Queens of the Stone AgePorcupine TreeStarsetChevelleThe Mars Volta, and beyond.

By confronting anger, shame, and ultimately galvanizing hope, Pharmacose advocates for the awareness of mental health. Through vibrant soundscapes suffused with riveting synth. The group hopes to empower people to seek help, push through, and move from isolation toward connection.

Pharmacose released Prescription Fiction, Part 1, in 2020. Prior to the COVID-19 pandemic, they were gearing up to play live shows in anticipation of the release of part 2. With the subsequent lockdowns canceling those shows, Jones decided to begin working on new material and used the time to explore new sounds and assume a greater role in production. The result is several new songs, the first of which will be released in March 2022. In the meantime, Pharmacose will finally release Prescription Fiction as an entire album, rather than separately releasing part 2.


Yoko Ono Releases ‘Onomix’

YOKO ONO has long been credited with igniting the punk-rock fire years before its official explosion, and her work continues to be relevant and inspirational decades later. For the past 10 years, ONO has been meticulously reinventing select songs from her vast catalog for 21st-century dancefloors, giving the groundbreaking pop culture icon a greater platform and visibility of which many contemporaries and present-day contenders can be envious.

Since first bursting onto the art and music worlds with her compelling, forward-thinking works, ONO has been ingeniously transforming herself from revolutionary “outsider” artist and punk rock progenitor to global peace ambassador, treasured pop culture icon, and EDM’s reigning matriarch.

ONOMIX assembles 30 stand-out mixes (including the brand-new club single “I’M MOVING ON”) from YOKO’s staggering body of remixed works that, to date, has yieldednine #1 BILLBOARD CLUB PLAY chart hits (“TALKING TO THE UNIVERSE”, “MOVE ON FAST”, “WOULDNIT’ (I’M A STAR)”, “GIVE ME SOMETHING”, “I’M NOT GETTING ENOUGH”, “GIVE PEACE A CHANCE”, “NO NO NO”, “EVERYMAN / EVERYWOMAN” and the timeless “WALKING ON THIN ICE”) and two critically-acclaimed remix anthologies: the rock/alternative based YES, I’M A WITCH and its EDM companion OPEN YOUR BOX.

This digital-only “green” release offers a comprehensive overview of ONO’s ambitious and ongoing dance remix series campaign, which launched in 2001, and includes mixes from BASEMENT JAXX, DANNY TENAGLIA, RALPHI ROSARIO, DAVE AUDE, BIMBO JONES, RICHARD MOREL, FRANCOIS K., ERIC KUPPER, DJ MEME, JOCHEM SIMMS, KARSH KALE, ROBERTO RODRIGUEZ and more.

To date, the boundless art-rock visionary has opened up her catalog of original material for reinvention by an eager generation of cutting-edge electronic and experimental music innovators, including the luminaries on ONOMIX as well as PET SHOP BOYS, FLAMING LIPS, THE POLYPHONIC SPREE, FELIX DA HOUSECAT, JUAN MACLEAN, ANTONY AND THE JOHNSONS, PEACHES, HANK SHOCKLEE, CAT POWER, CRAIG ARMSTRONG, PORCUPINE TREE, APPLES IN STEREO, LINUS LOVES, DIGITAL DOG, PENGUIN PRISON, JUNIOR BOYS, CSS, STONEBRIDGE, MURK and many more.

ONOMIX is digitally available at the iTunes music store and on MIND TRAIN / TWISTED Records.