ONO’s “Hold Me” Single Jumps Into Top Ten On Billboard’s Hot Dance/Club Play Chart

2013 marks a milestone year for ONO. The influential pop culture icon, outspoken activist and enduring avant-garde visionary celebrates her 80th birthday on February 18th. Her dynamic, uncompromising and, often controversial, career has spanned more than 5 decades and has seenONO expand from vilified outsider artist, socio-political revolutionary and progenitor of punk and New York’s famed Downtown art scene to now include global peace ambassador, philanthropic contributor to the arts and Billboard Dance chart-topping diva.

In the past decade, the boundless art-rock visionary has opened up her catalog of original works to be cleverly reinvented by a cherry-picked assemblage of dance, electronic and indie/alternative music innovators including PET SHOP BOYS, FLAMING LIPS, BASEMENT JAXX, DANNY TENAGLIA, PENGUIN PRISON, JUAN MACLEAN, FELIX DA HOUSECAT, PEACHES, ANTONY (of ANTONY AND THE JOHNSONS), SPARKS, CSS, HANK SHOCKLEE, CAT POWER, JUNIOR BOYS, BIMBO JONES, and THE POLYPHONIC SPREE. To date, the groundbreaking remix series has spawned 9 #1 BILLBOARD HOT DANCE CLUB PLAY chart-topping hits including “TALKING TO THE UNIVERSE”, “MOVE ON FAST”, “WOULDNIT’ (I’M A STAR)”, “GIVE ME SOMETHING”, “I’M NOT GETTING ENOUGH”, “GIVE PEACE A CHANCE”, “NO NO NO”, “EVERYMAN / EVERYWOMAN” and the definitive anthem “WALKING ON THIN ICE”, as well as, 2 critically-acclaimed remix albums – YES, I’M A WITCH and OPEN YOUR BOX.

ONO kicks off the new year with a fiery new dance single,“HOLD ME” – a searing collaboration co-written and produced by EDM A-lister DAVE AUDÉ (whose discography includes remixes and productions for U2, Madonna, Lady Gaga, Katy Perry, Ke$ha, Rihanna, Britney Spears, Depeche Mode, Coldplay and Pussycat Dolls, and an unprecedented 83 #1 Billboard Club Play Chart hits). The single finds ONO as vibrant and compelling as ever, continuing her streak of dance floor and club chart domination.

“HOLD ME” jumps into the top 10, at #9 with a bullet, in Billboard’s 3/23/13 issue (hitting news stands on 3/16/13), and will appear on the billboard.com web site on 3/14/13.

While her previous club hits have been star-studded reworkings of her classic material, “HOLD ME” is an entirely new song co-written by ONO and Dave, tailor-made for dance floors, and filled with her vivid lyrical imagery. Combined with Audé’s midas touch for solid, contemporary club anthems, the collaboration is an inspired one that sheds a new light on ONO and adds a strikingly new dimension to her illustrious career. Enlisted for remixes are Grammy Award-winning producer RALPHI ROSARIO, premiere Dutch DJ/producer R3HAB, sweltering progressive house collective PAPERCHA$ER, Spain’s IVAN GOMEZ & NACHO CHAPADO, Brazilian electro house/dubstep heavyweights DIRTY LOUD, electro nu-rave legend TOMMIE SUNSHINE and Boston-based wunderkind EMJAE (aka DJ/producer/remixer Matt Johnson of Nightriders and The Night Owl), all of whom deliver adrenalin-fueled bangers that keep the emotion and energy levels high. In addition to his original production, Audé himself also contributes to the collective of vibrant interpretations.

“HOLD ME” is available as digital green releases (no materials used or abused) on MIND TRAIN / TWISTEDRecords with the first set of mixes out now on iTunesand at all fine digital retailers.

Yoko Ono Releases ‘Onomix’

YOKO ONO has long been credited with igniting the punk-rock fire years before its official explosion, and her work continues to be relevant and inspirational decades later. For the past 10 years, ONO has been meticulously reinventing select songs from her vast catalog for 21st-century dancefloors, giving the groundbreaking pop culture icon a greater platform and visibility of which many contemporaries and present-day contenders can be envious.

Since first bursting onto the art and music worlds with her compelling, forward-thinking works, ONO has been ingeniously transforming herself from revolutionary “outsider” artist and punk rock progenitor to global peace ambassador, treasured pop culture icon, and EDM’s reigning matriarch.

ONOMIX assembles 30 stand-out mixes (including the brand-new club single “I’M MOVING ON”) from YOKO’s staggering body of remixed works that, to date, has yieldednine #1 BILLBOARD CLUB PLAY chart hits (“TALKING TO THE UNIVERSE”, “MOVE ON FAST”, “WOULDNIT’ (I’M A STAR)”, “GIVE ME SOMETHING”, “I’M NOT GETTING ENOUGH”, “GIVE PEACE A CHANCE”, “NO NO NO”, “EVERYMAN / EVERYWOMAN” and the timeless “WALKING ON THIN ICE”) and two critically-acclaimed remix anthologies: the rock/alternative based YES, I’M A WITCH and its EDM companion OPEN YOUR BOX.

This digital-only “green” release offers a comprehensive overview of ONO’s ambitious and ongoing dance remix series campaign, which launched in 2001, and includes mixes from BASEMENT JAXX, DANNY TENAGLIA, RALPHI ROSARIO, DAVE AUDE, BIMBO JONES, RICHARD MOREL, FRANCOIS K., ERIC KUPPER, DJ MEME, JOCHEM SIMMS, KARSH KALE, ROBERTO RODRIGUEZ and more.

To date, the boundless art-rock visionary has opened up her catalog of original material for reinvention by an eager generation of cutting-edge electronic and experimental music innovators, including the luminaries on ONOMIX as well as PET SHOP BOYS, FLAMING LIPS, THE POLYPHONIC SPREE, FELIX DA HOUSECAT, JUAN MACLEAN, ANTONY AND THE JOHNSONS, PEACHES, HANK SHOCKLEE, CAT POWER, CRAIG ARMSTRONG, PORCUPINE TREE, APPLES IN STEREO, LINUS LOVES, DIGITAL DOG, PENGUIN PRISON, JUNIOR BOYS, CSS, STONEBRIDGE, MURK and many more.

ONOMIX is digitally available at the iTunes music store and Beatport.com on MIND TRAIN / TWISTED Records.