GHOUL: Masked Mutants Of Creepsylvania To Release Hang Ten Via Tankcrimes

In recognition of that holiest of holy days, Record Store Day, the masked mutants in GHOUL are releasing Hang Ten, a limited edition six-song (mostly) instrumental 10″ EP. Featuring guest vocals from Tony Foresta (Municipal Waste, Iron Reagan) as Henchman #1 and the inimitable R.A. MacLean (ex-Deadbolt) as Kreeg, alongside Digestor, Cremator, Fermentor, Dissector and The Moron Cavern-Shackled Choir, Hang Ten was recorded by Salvador Raya at Earhammer Studios in Oakland (birthing home of SplatterhashSplatterthrash and Transmission Zero), mastered by Dan Randall at Mammoth Sound Mastering and sports cover art by Sean Aaberg of Pork Magazine.


Surely an anomaly in GHOUL‘s catalog, the EP features songs written exclusively in their unique brand of surf metal the quartet has previously only dabbled in. Hang Ten picks up right whereTransmission Zero left off, relaying the tale of a Creepsylvania in tatters, and the terrible power struggle that ensues between two vicious motorcycle gangs. Noted Cambridge University musical anthropologist Dr. Mantle Bannister PhD had this to say about this odd assortment of tenebrous tunes: “Why, it’s quite remarkable. I’ve never heard the like. Is it surf? Not quite. Is it metal? Maybe. Is it jazz? No, that’s a stupid question, unfit for a real life noted musical anthropologist such as myself. It’s from Creepsylvania, you say? Ghastly country. Absolutely crawling with gypsies. Say, old chap, who let you in to my office?”


Hang Ten 10″ Track Listing:

1. The Midnight Ride of the Cannibals MC

2. Kreeg

3. Sidehackers

4. Hang Ten

5. Blood on the Street

6. It Was a Very Good Year


Hang Ten will be released on April 19, 2014 via Tankcrimes Records. Peep the artwork at THIS LOCATION.


In related news, GHOUL will headline the first night of this year’s edition of Brainsqueeze Fest. Set to take place April 18th and 19th at the Oakland Metro and April 20th at Eli’s Mile High Club, which will include BBQ and an Andrei Bouzikov art show, the mammoth event features more than a dozen acts including Municipal Waste, Final Conflict, Negative Approach. Fucked Up and Cannabis Corpse as well as a gaggle of new Tankcrimes releases to be revealed in the coming weeks! Get your riot gear ready. For more info, point your browser HERE.


Further GHOULish missives to be unearthed in the coming days. Until then, wither.

CANNABIS CORPSE/GHOUL Splatterhash 12″ Split

In celebration of its official unveiling via Tankcrimes yesterday, Decibel Magazine is currently streaming the joint release between bong barbarians, CANNABIS CORPSE, and hooded horror metal hooligans, GHOUL.


A smokingly heavy offering of sonic obliteration, contact highs and impending munchies, theSplatterhash 12″ offers up four tracks of rabid, antagonistic lunacy. For their portion of the split,GHOUL returned to Earhammer Studios in Oakland where they recorded both Transmission Zero andSplatterthrash. CANNABIS CORPSE recorded at bassist/vocalist Land Phil’s own Blaze of Torment Studios in Richmond, Virginia. The whole dish of decadence was mastered by Dan Randall at Mammoth Sound in Santa Cruz and features the riotously brilliant cover art of Andrei Bouzikov (Municipal Waste, Skeletonwitch, Toxic Holocaust). The release marks the first CANNABIS CORPSEmaterial to feature Land Phil on vocals and Brent Purgason (Pustulus Maximus of Gwar) on lead guitar. Said Metal Assault of the stony collaboration, “Musically, Splatterhash comes across as a precisely composed slab of extreme metal that is able to convey its musical expression even within such a short duration. Besides, the cover artwork makes the physical formats a wiser choice for the buyer. This is by all means an enjoyable little offering from CANNABIS CORPSE and GHOUL to start the New Year.” Adds, “Splatterhash is a completely insane romp through a smoke-shrouded graveyard that will bathe you in showers of blood and clouds of skunk-scented bliss… just don’t be surprised if you find yourself hitting the fridge immediately after listening.”


Get spliffy with Splatterhash, now polluting the lungs of the daring at Decibel,RIGHT HERE.


CANNABIS CORPSE, who recently joined the Season Of Mist roster, is a marijuana-themed death metal assault from Richmond, Virginia. Featuring members of Municipal Waste and Gwar, CANNABIS CORPSE pride themselves in their exceptional knowledge of good green, face raping riffs and side-splitting death metal parodies. The masked legion known as GHOUL – Cremator, Fermentor, Digestor, and Dissector – are mutants from Creepsylvania specializing in the implementation of ear-spearing splatterthrash, grave digging and mass flesh consumption. Both bands’ entire catalogs can be streamed (and purchased) via the official Tankcrimes BandCamp Page HERE.


Order Splatterthrash (available in splatter, black or swamp green) if you know what’s good for you at THIS LOCATION.

GHOUL Premieres “Americanized” Cover/Video Featuring Oderus Urungus

Metal Injection offer up the official premiere of “Americanized” as covered by splatterthrash death-wrought miscreants, GHOUL. The one-minute-forty-three-second surge of cinematic lunacy features head GWAR deviant Oderus Urungus as well as a host of eye-titillation in the form of blood, guns, burgers, rodeos, motorcycles, drugs, sheep fucking and more!


Lay your peepers HERE to check it out.


GHOUL’s rampaging rendition of “Americanized”comes by way of their recently detonated covers EP, Intermediate Level Hard-Core, available now digitally and on vinyl via Tankcrimes Records. Featuring five tracks of gristly hardcore/punk worship, the EP delivers GHOULed out versions of tunes from GWAR as well as Fearless Iranians From Hell, Willful Neglect,N.O.T.A, and Dayglo Abortions. The digital version is a measly three bucks. Don’t be a cheap ass. Order yours now at THIS LOCATION. The vinyl 12” comes in solid red and is currently available HERE. Finally, you can download “Americanized” for FREE HERE.


The CD version of Intermediate Level Hard-Core will be released on August 20, 2013


Intermediate Level Hard-Core EP Track Listing:

1. Americanized (GWAR cover featuring Oderus Urungus)

2. Blow Up the Embassy (Fearless Iranians From Hell cover)

3. E.M.S.&D. (Willful Neglect cover)

4. Propaganda Control (N.O.T.A cover)

5. Proud to be Creepsylvanian (Dayglo Abortions cover originally released as “Proud to Be Canadian”)


The masked legion known as GHOUL — Cremator, Fermentor, Digestor, and Dissector – are mutants from Creepsylvania specializing in the execution of bone-snapping splatterthrash, grave robbing and flesh devourment. Stay tuned for further GHOULectable news in the coming weeks.